Opposites attract in this irresistible Regency romance, where a proper gentleman who lives by the ton's rules and a lady who lives to break them try to resist one another—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton series.

Lady Serena Wynter doesn’t mind flirting with a bit of scandal—she’s determined to ignore society’s strictures and live life on her own fiercely independent terms. These days, she chooses to pour her passions into charitable causes with the vibrant group of ladies in her Wednesday Afternoon Social Club. But there is one man who stirs Serena’s deepest emotions, one who’s irresistibly handsome, infuriatingly circumspect, and too honorable for his own good…

Charles Townshend, former boxer and consummate gentleman, worries Serena’s reckless nature will earn her the ton’s scorn…or put her in serious danger. Though Charles isn’t immune to the attraction between them, a shocking family secret prevents him from ever acting on his desires. But it seems Lady Serena doesn’t intend to let his penchant for propriety stand in the way of a mutually satisfying dalliance.
 

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"Pembrooke skillfully weaves subtle political subplots throughout the sweet, slow burn romance...An author to watch."—Publishers Weekly, on Not the Kind of Earl You Marry

"Pembrooke fills this emotional tale with sparkling dialogue and well-drawn characters. Regency romance fans will delight at Pembrooke’s strong female protagonist who rises above societal limitations and expectations."

Publishers Weekly
"A perfectly executed Regency historical with an engagingly nuanced cast of characters, graceful writing leavened with droll wit, and a surfeit of sophisticated sensuality."—Booklist, on Not the Kind of Earl You Marry
"Bridgerton fans will devour this book! A hot Earl for a hot Summer!"—Frolic, on Not the Kind of Earl You Marry
“A terrific debut with one of my favorite tropes done brilliantly. Lovely, lively, and lots of fun!”—Grace Burrowes, New York Times bestselling author, on Not the Kind of Earl You Marry
"Delicious! Kate Pembrooke is joining the list of my favorite authors.”—Cathy Maxwell, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, on Not the Kind of Earl You Marry
"Romance fans will be charmed by this sweet Regency tale!"—Kate Bateman, author of The Princess and the Rogue, on Not the Kind of Earl You Marry
"A beautifully written regency of the highest caliber."—Elizabeth Everett, author of A Lady’s Formula for Love, on Not the Kind of Earl You Marry
Read More Read Less

The Unconventional Ladies of Mayfair