Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Girl in the Blue Coat

By: Monica Hesse
ISBN: 9780316260633 TP
Category: Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 320
Age Range: 12 & up
Grade Range: 7-17
Curriculum Subjects: Teen Life: Personal Development, Teen Life: Religion, Teen Life: ActivismAccelerated
Reader: 4.9

 

Download Educator Guide

 

Description:

The bestselling, “gripping” (Entertainment Weekly), “powerful” (Hypable), “utterly thrilling” (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys

 

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.
On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman’s frantic plea to find a person–a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.
Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.